On the users tab you can:
- see all users
- create new users
- enable/disable users
- see who is active
- logout users
- delete users
- manage security groups
Managing users and groups
You can add individual user accounts using the Add new user menu option. We recommend using securitySheet for managing all users and groups and automatic syncrhonization into TM1.
Modifying user groups
Click any user to modify their security groups and perform user actions. Use checkboxes to specify user's groups. By default the selected groups are displayed first, so if you select a new group it will move to the top. To change this behaviour click the Group header to order groups by name:
You can access user action menu by clicking the three dots button at the top right corner. Depending on the user current status, the menu will contain the following options:
- Delete user
- Logout user (available for active users only)
- Disable user (available for enabled users only)
- Enable user (available for disabled users only)
Copy to clipboard
Click the user name to copy it to clipboard
You can disable all non-admin users from the users menu or you can disable individual users by clicking the Disable user menu option on the user screen. This option does not show up if a user is disabled. The option is greyed out if the selected user belongs to ADMIN security group.
The Disable non-admin users feature is handy when you want to deploy a release, reload some big dimensions or do any other tasks and you would like to prevent object locking by possible users interactions.
You can enable all disabled users from the users menu or you can enable individual users by clicking the Enable user menu option on the user screen. The option does not show up if the selected user is enabled.
Copying user groups
You can copy/paste groups from one user to another one, which will replace all the tager user groups.
When you click Copy user groups, the group list is also copied to your clipboard so you can paste it in a sheet or as a text anywhere.
Use the Delete menu to delete the user
Logging out users
Use the Logout menu option on the user screen to logout the selected user. The option is displayed for active users only.
When defining a ::tm1env you can specify securitySheet parameter and indicate the sheet which you want to synchronize users, groups and assignments from. By default TeamOne will look for user IDs in column 1 (groups shoud follow after the user ID column) and will skip 1 header row. This can be customized by specifying the startRow and startColumn parameters. Once you configure securitySheet, the sync security option will become available in the sidebar menu:
The easiest way to make a users sheet is to use the Create security sheet option, which will insert a new sheet and add all users & groups there. You will just need to set the sheet name as the securitySheet option value.
Using Google Sheets Data > Data validation feature it is possible to create a group dropdown by selecting your group list range:
Now you can search and assign groups from a dropdown:
"Hierarchy-like" group dropdowns
You can prepend spaces to your group names so they appear like a hierarchy in dropdowns. TeamOne will automatically trim all spaces when updating the security in TM1.
If using namespace in ::tm1env definition, you can prepend the user IDs with namespace/ and add semicolons at the end (TeamOne will strip it when creating/updating users in TM1). This will allow you to add all users to a Cognos group in one shot using the type method. Do not use CAMIDs in user ID column.
New users and groups
New users and groups will be created if they do not exist.
Use Data > Protected sheets and ranges to give certain users (usually some managers) access to update users and groups.
You can open TM1 top from the sidebar menu. It displays all users sessions, including info about the used interface (Architect, TM1Web or REST API) and what they are doing at the moment. For instance, if someone is executing a process, you will be able to see the process name and the execution time.
You can click a user thread to cancel it.